🎥 Watch the replay of our v2 Transition Q&A here.
We are thrilled with the positive feedback from our hosts using Crowdcast v2. The majority of our hosts are enjoying the new stage design and features, resulting in significantly higher engagement rates during their events.
As part of this transition to the new platform, we are sunsetting Crowdcast v1 entirely by the end of 2023. The process of scaling down v1 has already begun, and new events are no longer being hosted on v1.
Rest assured that all your past events will remain accessible for replays and analytics as long as you have an active account. However, please be aware that starting on September 1st, the ability to run events on v1 will be deactivated. By December 31st, all v1 replays will be accessible via v2 and will remain available to you and your audience.
The redesigned platform offers several exciting features, including:
Higher-quality HD video and audio
A customizable stage with backgrounds and overlays
The ability to assign roles for co-hosts, moderators, and speakers
Direct uploads of presentations and videos into the event without screen sharing
The capacity to have up to 11 people on stage simultaneously
And many more enhancements
Here's a video to introduce you to the new interface.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can attendees still register for my v1 events?
Yes, they can still register. However, you can no longer import attendees into your v1 events. If it's a paid event you should create a 100% off coupon code and share that with the attendee.
How do I email attendees via my v1 event?
The ability to email attendees via your v1 event has been turned off. You should export your attendees and email them via your own email systems.
What happens when my Patreon integration resets?
Periodically, a host's Patreon integration may reset and need to be reconnected. It's not possible for this reconnection to take place on v1.
If you are a Patreon creator with v1-hosted event, you have two options:
Make your v1 Patreon events unlisted, so they cannot be discovered by non-patrons. Your Patrons will have access via the shared event link on your Patreon page.
You can add a password to your v1 events instead of a Patreon tier requirement. Reach out to us if you need help with this. We're happy to assist with updating your v1 event settings.
What happens if I don’t move to v2?
It is only possible to run events on Crowdcast after September 1st if you’re using v2. Your content will continue to be preserved while on an active plan.
Will my v2 subscription cost the same?
Yes, our subscription pricing is still the same for Lite, Pro, and Business plans.
Our v2 pricing includes some optional add-ons like the ability to add hours to your plan in increments of five or add teammates to your channel. Those are an additional cost if you wish you use them.
What if I’m currently on a paused plan?
Nothing changes for your account. Your events and channel are still available. If you decide to upgrade in order to run events again, you’ll need to use v2.
I’m on the Starter plan. Do I lose access to Starter when I move to v2?
We are discontinuing our Starter plan with v1. If you are currently on the Starter plan, you can maintain that plan until December 31st. However, you won't be able to take advantage of any v2 billing features like add-on hours unless you upgrade fully to v2.
To make this transition as smooth as possible, we're offering Starter users a 50% discount on a monthly Lite plan for six months. Contact us at [email protected] to set this up.
What if I've already taken registrations for a v1 event scheduled after September 1st?
We’re here to assist you in transitioning those events to Crowdcast v2 and to make this easy for you and your attendees. Our team will work closely with you to ensure you are fully equipped to successfully host and manage your events on the new platform.
The first step will be to recreate the event(s) on v2 since it is a separate platform from v1. Please let us know if you need assistance with this.
How would I recreate my v1 events in v2?
Here are some suggested steps to make this as smooth as possible for you and your attendees. Let me know if you need assistance with these:
If you are entirely new to v2, I'd suggest you watch our demo here first.
Re-create the event in the v2 interface (see: How to Build an Event)
Download a CSV file of registrants from your v1 event. Open the Options menu from within the event and select Export Attendees.
Import those registrants into the new v2 event (see: Registering Emails Into Your Event)
Attendees will receive a confirmation email to let them know they have been registered. We recommend you email your attendees from within the new event to alert them to the new event location. (see: How to Email Your Attendees)
Ideally, once you are certain all attendees are moved to your new event you would archive the old event to ensure no more sign-ups.
If you need to keep the v1 event live because you have publicly shared the URL:
Update your v1 event title to state ** new location ** or similar, and drop the new link in the v1 event chat and even as a CTA.
Limit the seats to less than already registered so that no one else can sign up. Within the v1 event go to Edit > Advanced > Limit seats
Don't hesitate to reach out to us if you need help in the form of an onboarding call to demo the new features. We are more than willing to help.
We also have a recorded demo and other introductory walkthroughs in the Getting Started section of our Support Center.
To request a v2 onboarding call, get assistance with transitioning events, or ask a question that isn't answered here, please email us at [email protected].
Was this article helpful? Please share your rating below! Happy Crowdcasting! 🎥