Advice and answers from the Crowdcast Team

Hosts have access to a wide variety of tools during a live event to control what the audience sees. We refer to these as host controls. We also refer to what the audience sees as the stage. Anyone whose camera or screen share is visible is considered on stage.

By default, anyone in the broadcast is on stage. In the screenshot below, there are 2 people on stage.

Hiding a screen

Clicking on the "Hide screen" icon will temporarily remove someone from the stage and turn their video off. A hidden screen will not show up in your recording. To show the hidden stream again, simply click on the "Show screen" icon.

Focusing a screen

Clicking on the "Focus screen" icon will temporarily remove the rest of the streams on stage, and turn their videos off. Only the focused screen will show up in your recording. To unfocus a screen, simply click on the "Unfocus screen" icon.

Removing a screen

You can permanently remove a screen by clicking on the "Remove screen" icon.

Toggle audio / video

The "Toggle audio" and "Toggle video" icons respectively mute and turn a camera on / off. It is important to note that a video turned off will not appear in the recording.

Did this answer your question?